FIFA Women's World Cup 2015 Finals

Women’s World Cup 2015

The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup is the seventh FIFA Women’s World Cup, the quadrennial international women’s football world championship tournament. In March 2011, Canada won the right to host the event, the first time the country will host the tournament and the third time it has been held in North America. Matches will be played in six cities across Canada in five time zones. The tournament began on 6 June 2015 and is scheduled to finish with the final match on 5 July.

FIFA Women's World Cup 2015 Finals
FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 Finals

The 2015 tournament saw the World Cup expanded to 24 teams from 16 in 2011. Canada’s team received direct entry as host and a qualification tournament of 134 teams was held for the remaining 23 places. With the expanded tournament, eight teams made their Women’s World Cup debut. All previous Women’s World Cup finalists qualified for the tournament, with defending champion Japan and returning champions Germany (2003, 2007) and the United States (1991, 1999) among the seeded teams.

The 2015 tournament is using goal-line technology for the first time with the Hawk-Eye system. It is also the first Women’s World Cup to be played on artificial turf. There were some initial concerns over a possible increased risk of injuries from playing on artificial turf, but a legal challenge suggesting matches should be played on grass as in similar men’s tournaments was dropped in January 2015.