Women's World Cup: Google Doodle

Women’s World Cup

The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be the seventh FIFA Women’s World Cup, the quadrennial international women’s football world championship tournament. In March 2011, Canada won the right to host the event, the first time the country will host the tournament and the third time it has been in North America. The tournament will be held from 6 June to 5 July 2015.

Women's World Cup: Google Doodle
Women’s World Cup: Google Doodle

The 2015 tournament saw the World Cup expanded to 24 teams from 16 in 2011. Canada received direct entry as hosts, and a qualification tournament entered into by 134 teams was held for the remaining 23 places. With the expanded tournament, 8 teams will make their Women’s World Cup debut at the 2015 tournament. All previous Women’s World Cup finalists qualified for the tournament, with estalished nations Germany, Japan and the USA all among the pre-tournament favorites.

The tournament will use the Hawk-Eye system as goal-line technology for the first time and will also be the first Women’s World Cup to be played on artificial turf. Players expressed concerns over potential injuries from the artificial turf, and a legal case asking for matches to be moved was dropped in January 2015.


The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup is one of the first FIFA tournaments under new rights deals in two North American markets. In its host country of Canada, the competition will be televised by CTV, TSN and RDS (French) through a new rights agreement with parent company Bell Media. United States English-language television and radio rights will be held by Fox Sports, NBC-owned Telemundo will handle Spanish-language television broadcasts, and Spanish-language radio rights were given to the Futbol de Primera radio network. On 8 December 2014 FIFA signed a contract with EBU for 37 countries. In Australia, SBS hold the television and online rights.

Women’s World Cup 215 Preview